About Nepal

Brief Introduction of Nepal


Nepal having the area of 147181 sq km is a landlocked country in South Asia with population 26.4 million officially is called as Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal. Nepal is a multi ethnic nation with Nepali as an official language. Kathmandu is the capital and largest city of Nepal. Economy of Nepal depends on agricultural, tourism, handicrafts, banking and hydro power.



Nepal is surrounded with China to the north and India to the south, east and west. Nepal is located in the Himalayas and is the home to the eight of the world’s ten tallest mountains including Mount Everest, the highest point on the earth.

Nepal is commonly divided into three physio graphic areas: Mountain, Hill and Terai. These ecological belts run east-west and are vertically intersected by Nepal’s major, north to south flowing river systems.



Nepal has five climatic zones, broadly corresponding to the altitudes. The tropical and sub-tropical zones lie below 1,200 meters, the temperature zone 1,200 to 2,400 meters, the cold zone 2,400 to 3,600 meters, the subarctic zone 3,600 to 4,400 meters and the arctic zone above 4,400 meters.

Nepal experiences five seasons: summer, monsoon, autumn, winter and spring. The Himalaya blocks cold winds from Central Asia in the winter and forms the northern limit of the monsoon wind patterns.

Nepal is popular for mountaineering, having some of the highest and most challenging mountains in the world, including Mount Everest. Technically, the south-east ridge on the Nepali side of the mountain is easier to climb; so most climbers prefer to trek to Everest through Nepal.



Nepal GDP for 2012 was estimated at over $17.921 billion. In 2010, agriculture accounted for 36.1%, services comprised 48.5%, and industry 15.4% of Nepal’s GDP. While agriculture and industry are contracting, the contribution by the service sector is increasing.

patan square.png

0 thoughts on “About Nepal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *